Resources

Here are some resources that I find useful and think you might, too. Some of links below are based in mental health and some are organizations, web sites, videos, and books that I find inspiring, interesting, or thought-provoking.


Education and Support for Those Affected by Mental Illness

National Alliance on Mental Illness: https://www.nami.org

The Mighty: https://themighty.com

 Suicide

https://suicidepreventionlifeline.org

Suicide Awareness Voices of Education (SAVE): https://save.org

Suicide: Read this first: https://metanoia.org/suicide/

Trauma

https://www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/07/how-childhood-trauma-could-be-mistaken-for-adhd/373328/

http://time.com/3625414/rape-trauma-brain-memory/


Shame and Vulnerability

Brené Brown, PhD is a scholar, author, and public speaker, who is currently a research professor at the University of Houston Graduate College of Social Work. She studies and has written extensively on shame and vulnerability.

-Brené’s TED talk on The Power of Vulnerability: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iCvmsMzlF7o

-Brené’s TED talk on Listening to Shame: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=L0ifUM1DYKg

Addiction Recovery & Codependency Programs

Alcoholics Anonymous: https://www.aa.org

Alanon: https://al-anon.org

Adult Children of Alcoholics (ACA): https://adultchildren.org; https://www.socalaca.org

Co-Dependence Anonymous (CoDA): http://coda.org

Debtors Anonymous (DA): https://debtorsanonymous.org

Narcotics Anonymous (NA): https://www.na.org

 Overeaters Anonymous (OA): https://oa.org

Sexaholics Anonymous (SA): https://www.sa.org

Sex & Love Addicts Anonymous (SLAA): http://slaalosangeles.org

Sexual Compulsives Anonymous (SCA): http://scalosangeles.org


Smart Recovery: https://www.smartrecovery.org

Smart Recovery for Friends and Family: https://www.smartrecovery.org/family/


Refuge Recovery: https://refugerecovery.org

Mindfulness & Meditation Centers

InsightLA - Mindfulness Meditation in Santa Monica, California

Spirit Rock Meditation Center - Located in Woodacre, California

Against the Stream - Buddhist Meditation Society in Los Angeles & San Francisco, California

Inward Bound Mindfulness Education - Transformative retreats for teens, parents and professionals

-Tara Brach is a leading western teacher of Buddhist meditation, emotional healing and spiritual awakening. She has practiced and taught meditation for over 35 years, with an emphasis on vipassana (mindfulness or insight) meditation.


-Jon Kabat-Zinn is a Professor of Medicine Emeritus and creator of the Stress Reduction Clinic and the Center for Mindfulness in Medicine, Health Care, and Society at the University of Massachusetts Medical School. He is also the creator of Mindfulness Based Stress Reduction (MBSR). 


-Jack Kornfield is one of the leading Buddhist teachers in America. A practitioner for over 40 years, he is one of the key teachers to introduce mindfulness and vipassana meditation to the West.


-Pema Chodron is a beloved Buddhist teacher, author, nun and mother. She has inspired millions of people from around the world who have been touched by her example and message of practicing peace in these turbulent times. Her book, “When Things Fall Apart” is a classic.


-Thich Nhat Hahn, Teacher, Author, Poet and Peach Activist. He lives in the Plum Village Monastery in the Dordogne region in the South of France. He has published more than 100 books, including more than 40 in English.


Anxiety Disorders

Panic Disorder: https://adaa.org/understanding-anxiety/panic-disorder

Obsessive Compulsive Disorder: https://iocdf.org/about-ocd/

Calm Clinic: https://www.calmclinic.com

 Child Abuse & Domestic Abuse

Child Help: https://www.childhelp.org

The National Domestic Violence Hotline: https://www.thehotline.org

 

Depression

https://www.apa.org/helpcenter/depression.aspx

Bi-Polar Disorder & Depression

Bipolar Disorder: https://www.apa.org/topics/bipolar/index.aspx

Eating Disorders

National Eating Disorders Association: https://www.nationaleatingdisorders.org/help-support/contact-helpline

Note: Though I am happy to share resources, I am not responsible for the information, claims, representations of the listed sites, teachers, books, etc.